1 Million Nigerians have benefited from FG’s N5,000 monthly stipend – Presidency

by on January 3, 2017

Some poor Nigerians list­ed among the one mil­lion vulnerable citizens to benefit from the Federal Government N5,000 month­ly stipends have been paid, the Presidency has said.

In a statement issued on Monday by the Senior Spe­cial Assistant on Media and Publicity to the Vice Presi­dent, Mr. Laolu Akande, the government hinted that the payment was done through the Conditional Cash Trans­fer (CCT) of its Social Invest­ment Programmes (SIP).

Akande said that one million vulnerable Nigeri­ans would receive N5,000 monthly payments under the CCT as a form of social safety net.

He said that most of the beneficiaries had confirmed receiving their first payments in the first batch which began last week.

Akande said: “In the first batch that commenced last week, nine states would be covered, and many of the beneficiaries have already reported receiving their first payments by Friday last week, December 30, 2016.

READ  10 Teachers Die Every Month in Lagos – Perm Sec

“Funds for the com­mencement of the payments in four states were released last week to the Nigeria In­ter-Bank Settlement System (NIBSS) – the platform that hosts and validates payments for all government’s social intervention programmes. Funds for another set of five states to complete the first batch of nine states would follow soon,” Aknde said.

He listed Borno, Kwara, Bauchi, Cross Rivers, Ni­ger, Kogi, Oyo, Ogun and Ekiti states as among the first batch to receive the stipends.

It however said that the states were selected because they had a social register that identified the vulnerable and poorest Nigerians.

“Though the sequence for the payment of the money would be operationally man­aged by NIBSS, beneficiaries in Borno, Kwara and Bauchi States have started receiving the money. The other states in the first batch to com­mence the CCT payments are Cross Rivers, Niger, Kogi, Oyo, Ogun & Ekiti States,” Mr. Akande said.

READ  APC Doing Everything Possible to Destabilize PDP - Emman­uel Agbo

“The nine pilot states were chosen because they have an existing Social Register that successfully identified the most vulnerable and poor­est Nigerians through a tried and tested community based targeting (CBT) method working with the World Bank. However other states have already begun develop­ing their Social Registers and would be included in sub­sequent phases of the CCT implementation.”

According to the state­ment, the federal govern­ment, with the support of the World Bank, has adopted the CBT for developing the social register in the other states around the country for transparency, objectivity and credibility in the selection of the poorest and vulnerable Nigerians. Hence, the federal government will soon com­mence community mobili­sation for the creation of the register in more states, to ex­pand the scope and reach of the CCT across the country.

READ  Why Leicester may make Kelechi Iheanacho the most expensive Nigeria star ever

Other states listed to have complied with the stipulated framework provided and are set for the community based targeting method for devel­opment of social register are Plateau, Jigawa, Adamawa, Anambra, Benue, Enugu, Katsina and Taraba States.

These states, Akande said, are to be followed by Delta, Gombe, Kaduna, Kano, Imo and Ogun States.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response