7 Ministers Yet to Resign – Jonathan

by on October 15, 2014

Contrary to widespread media reports on Wednesday that seven Ministers in President Jonathan’s cabinet have resigned their appointments to pursue their political aspirations, the said Ministers are yet to officially resign their appointments.

President Jonathan had at Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council meeting received notification from the seven Ministers indicating their desire to seek elective office. This was immediately misconstrued and reported by a wide section of the Nigeria media that the Ministers have resigned.

However, a source at the Presidency confirmed to BREAKING TIMES that the affected Ministers are yet to tender their resignation letters. “The President is yet to receive the resignation letters of the Ministers, so it is not correct to say they have resigned. There are procedures for disengagement. The Ministers will write to the President through the office of the SGF for proper documentation. Until that is done, technically the Ministers are still in service,” the source said.

In what appears to be a confirmation of the above, President Jonathan at Wednesday’s Federal Executive Council meeting said, “The Ministers are still with us, we are not dropping Ministers and we have not received any letters. They have until next week Wednesday to either tender their resignation or stay with us if they decide to change their mind.”

The affected Ministers are Ministers of Information, Labaran Maku; Trade and Industry, Samuel Ortom; State for Education, Nyesom Wike; and State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.

Others are Ministers of Labour, Emeka Wogu; Health, Onyebuchi Chukwu; State for Niger Delta, Dairus Ishaku.


Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response