Abuja Disco Targets 100,000 Metres Yearly

by on March 21, 2016

The Managing Director of Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC), Mr. Neil Croucher, has said that in order to start addressing the metering gap in its coverage area, the company will rollout 100,000 pre-paid meters yearly.

Speaking to newsmen Friday, he said: “We inherited a huge metering gap with different billing system that do not communicate with one another. Indeed, there are five different vending platforms, which we’re trying to harmonize them so that they can communicate with each other; meaning that customers can buy their electricity token from any part of the areas covered by AEDC.

Also, to boost customer service within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and environ, the Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) has created six new regional offices.

Regions, according to the firm, are FCT North, FCT South, FCT Central, as well as Kogi, Nasarawa and Niger.

Head of Public Relations and Media of Abuja Disco, Ahmed Shekarau, said the firm adopted the regional organisational structure for its administration and to bring services closer to its customers and enhance efficiency and service delivery.

Croucher said, “In order to achieve this, we have an arrangement to install 100,000 meters a year in order to wipe out the backlog (in our coverage area) as quick as possible”, adding that: “after securing the (metering) platform, we can then introduce our e-payment solution through which customers can purchase power either through internet, cell phones, e-banking, etcetera.”

The six regional offices now cover the following areas: FCT North-Bwari, Gwarinpa, Katampe, Kubwa and Life Camp areas.

FCT South is now in charge of Apo, Gwagwalada, Jabi, Kuje and Lugbe areas, while the FCT Central administers Asokoro, Garki, Karu, Maitama and Wuse areas of the territory.

The other ones are Kogi Regional Office, which supervises Lokoja, Idah, Kabba and Okene areas; Nasarawa Regional Office covers Lafia, Keffi, Mararaba and Akwanga area offices, while Niger is in charge of Minna, Suleja, Kontagora, Bida and Bosso areas.

Source: The Guardian

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response