AFCON 2021:Super Eagles Qualifiers Opponents Known

by on July 18, 2019

The Super Eagles of Nigeria and three time African champion have been handed what many called an easy draw in the qualifiers of the next edition of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

The draw, which took place on Thursday in Cairo, saw Nigeria drawn in Group L alongside Lesotho, Sierra Leone and Benin Republic.

The 33rd edition of the continental championship is billed to take place in 2021.

The tournament will be held in Cameroon and will also see 24 teams battle for the title, just like the ongoing edition in Egypt.

The qualification ties will be staged from October 7, 2019 and will end in November 2020.

READ  Nine Killed, 21 Others missing in Boat mishap

The top two team from each group will qualify for the finals except in Group F, where Cameroon automatically qualify as hosts with highest placed of other three teams.

Full Draw:

Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Liberia/Chad

Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, South Sudan/Seychelles

Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, Mauritius/Sao Tome Principe

Group D: Congo DR, Gabon, Angola, Djibouti/Gambia,

Group E: Morocco, Central Africa, Burundi, Mauritania

Group F: Cameroon, Mozambique, Rwanda, Cape Verde

Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros Islands,

Group H: Algeria, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia,

Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Eswatini

Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea,

READ  Four of Ekweremadu's Attackers Identified by the German Police

Group K: Cote d’Ivoire, Ethiopa, Niger, Madagascar

Group L: Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Benin, Lesotho

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response