1 comment

APC Cries Foul as PDP sweeps Abia LG Elections

The ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has cleared all 17 Chairmanship seats in the Wednesday’s Local Govern­ment election in Abia State.
According to the result of the poll announced by the Chairman of the Abia State Independent Electoral Com­mission (ABSIEC), Justice Igbozurike Akomas (retd) via the state radio, PDP can­didates won the Chairman­ship seats by landslide.
The results of counsellor­ship are still being awaited according to the radio an­nouncement.
It was gathered that the re­sult was announced around 3:30 am by the ABSIEC boss with only select media present unlike the tradition, where such announcements were made in the full glare of journalists and other stake­holders.
Only five political par­ties participated in the poll namely: the Peoples Demo­cratic Party (PDP), All Pro­gressive Grand Alliance (APGA), All Progressive Congress (APC), Progressive Peoples Alliance (APC) and Labour Party.
A breakdown of the results indicated that PDP candi­date swept Obingwa LGA by 61,000, while his only chal­lenger -APC got 1,350; in Isiala Ngwa South, only PDP fielded candidate in the elec­tion, and he polled 19,303 votes.
In Ukwa West APC scored 3,450, APGA 2,105 votes, and PDP 22,180; Isiala Ngwa North Council APC 6,843, APGA 3,399, PDP 25,198 votes.
Others include: Aro­chukwu where APC got 51, APGA 8,551 and PDP 17, 906; Bende APC 3,000, APGA 9,014, and PDP 30,300; Osisioma Council Area APC, 10,262, APGA, 11,339, and PDP 37,309; and Umuahia North: APC 2,311, APGA 5,891, while the PDP polled 72,981.
In Isiukwuato LGA APC scored 2,747, APGA 4,621 and PDP18,719; Ukwa East : APGA 3,729, APC 8 and PDP12,675; Ummunnochi : APC 2,802, PDP 33,580; Aba South : APC 7,015, APGA 4,003, PDP 38,009, Fresh Party 1,994.
Ikwuano : APC 1806, APGA 6101, and PDP, 17,630 votes; Aba North : APC 5,321, APGA 2,978 and PDP 48,805 votes; Umuahia South: LP 445, APC 4443, APGA 6,221 and PDP 19,831 votes , while in Ugwunagbo , LP got 190, APGA 5,005 and PDP 31,118 votes.
Meanwhile the opposition has roundly rejected the re­sult saying it was fabricated in favour of PDP.

READ  'I Didn't Mean To Be Insensitive' – Desmond Elliot Apologizes To Nigerians
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response