BREAKING| Femi Gbajabiamila Takes Over House of Rep

by on June 11, 2019

Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila has won the election as Speaker Of house of Representatives.

Femi Gbajabiamila, majority leader in the 8th house of representatives, has been elected speaker.

The choice candidate of the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 282 votes to defeat Mohammed Bago, still of the APC, on Tuesday.

Like Senate President Ahmad Lawan, Gbajabiamila was the preferred candidate of the APC in 2015 but Yakubu Dogara, who was then of the APC, had teamed up with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to defeat him.

Dogara had defeated him with just eight votes.

While the sorting of votes was ongoing, Bago walked up to Gbajabiamila to congratulate him and this elicited a thunderous round of applause among their colleagues.

More details shortly

READ  PDP: APC Has No Meaningful Programme For Nigeria
Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response