El-Rufai Fires 20 Permanent Secretaries

by on July 16, 2015

Kaduna State government has announced the retirement of 20 permanent secretaries in line with the resolve to cut the cost of running government.

A statement signed by Governor Nasir el-Rufai’s Special Assistant, Media and Publicity, Samuel Aruwan, said the decision follows the streamlining of ministries in the state from 19 to 13, “as part of efforts to free resources for schools, hospitals, roads and other public goods.”

The statement said government, which had at inception declared its determination to cut costs, drive efficiency and improve service delivery, is continuing the restructuring of its agencies to ensure the number of permanent secretaries aligns with the new structure. It added, “There will be only 13 permanent secretaries for the 13 ministries.”

The statement stated further: “In addition, five departments will be headed by permanent secretaries. These are the Public Service Office; the Bureau of Establishments; Political and Economic Affairs; Cabinet and Security Services and General Services. This will bring the total number of permanent secretaries in the civil service to 18.

“The governor has conveyed his appreciation for the services the departing permanent secretaries have offered the state, and wishes them the best in their future endeavours.”

The statement further said the governor also approved the appointment of Thomas Gyang as Special Adviser, Budget Monitoring and Price Intelligence Unit, BMPIU.

He also named Ibrahim Aminu, the Wazirin Zazzau, as new chairman for the state’s Local Government Service Commission.

El-Rufai also appointed Ezekiel Baba Karik as Executive Secretary of the State Emergency Management Agency, SEMA.



Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response