FLASH | 5 Lawmakers Resign

by on April 6, 2018

Five lawmakers of a key regional party Friday resigned from the Indian Parliament over Prime Minister Narendra Modi government’s “failure” to grant special status to the southern state of Andhra Pradesh.

Vara Rao, Subba Reddy, Midhum Reddy, Avinash Reddy and Mekapati Reddy of Andhra Pradesh’s opposition YSR Congress
party submitted their resignation letters to Parliament Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on the last day of the Budget

Andhra Pradesh’s ruling Telegu Desam Party, led by Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, has already pulled out of
India’s ruling coalition and unsuccessfully tried many times to bring in no-confidence motion against Prime
Minister Modi’s government in Parliament over the issue.

Both Telegu Desam Party and YSR Congress party, a breakaway faction of India’s main opposition Congress party,
have vented out their anger against the Modi government over its “refusal” to grant special status to the
state as promised after Telangana was carved out of it in 2014.

READ  Oshiomhole Had no Dime before the Governorship Poll- Idahosa

Andhra Pradesh is to go to polls in 2019 and all parties are now upping the ante against the “deprivation” by the
Indian government.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response