INEC Redeploys State Electoral Commissioners

by on December 29, 2014

 In preparation for the Nigerian general elections scheduled for February 2015, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has redeployed all its state Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC) to different states across Nigeria, the redeployment is with immediate effect according to a statement issued on Monday by the Secretary to the commission, Mrs. Augusta Oga.

Breakdown of the new postings shows that the Resident Electoral Commissioner in Anambra State, Prof. Chukwuemeka Onukaogu has been posted to Enugu State; Mr Mike Igini, Cross River REC is now in charge of Edo State; Niger State REC, Dr Emmanuel Onucheyo has been redeployed to Kwara State while a former REC in Delta State, Dr Gabriel Ada has been moved to Imo State.

READ  PICTURES| US Donates 24 Mine Resistant War Machines To the Nigerian Army

Other RECs and their new states are as follows: Baba Abba Yusuf – Adamawa; Prof. Tukur Sa’ad – Bauchi; Ahmad Makama – Taraba; Selina Omagha Oko – Abia; Edwin Offor Nwatarali – Anambra; Sadiq Abubakar Musa – Sokoto, Jibrin Ibrahim Zarewa – Kebbi; Hussaini Ahmed Mahuta – Kaduna; Abubakar Umar Wara – Zamfara and Rufus Akeju – Oyo.

Others are Umar Danyaya – Nasarawa; Timothy Ibitoye – Ogun; Barito Lenusikpugi Kphagih – Bayelsa; Haliru Tambawel – Jigawa; Kassim Gana Geidam- Gombe; Ibrahim Bagobiri Marafa – Katsina; Aniedi Ikoiwak – Delta; Habu Zarma – Yobe; Akin Orebiyi – Lagos and Hussaini Halilu Pai

READ  Lagos Lights up 600km Network of Roads, 366 Locations

The redeployment which was conveyed in a letter marked INEC/SEC/402/ VOLIII/312 and addressed to the officials directed them all RECs directed them to conclude all handing and taking over formalities by Wednesday, December 31, 2014.

Source: AIT

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response