INEC Shortlists 37 Candidates for Anambra Guber Election

by on September 26, 2017

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Anambra State has published the names of 37 registered political parties contesting for the November 18 governorship election in the state.


The list also contained the names of the governorship candidates and their deputies.

The State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Nkwachukwu Orji, in a chat with newsmen, said the exercise was in line with what is required of the commission by the law.

He said the commission has put all necessary mechanisms in place to ensure a transparent and hitch free election.

The commissioner appealed to the various political parties in the state to campaign peacefully to help the commission deliver on its mandate of free, fair and credible election.

Among the political parties and their candidates published are the All progressives Grand alliance (APGA) Chief Willie Obiano and Dr. Nkem Okeke, the All Progressives Congress (APC) Dr. Tony Okechukwu Nwoye and Mr. Dozie Ikedife Arinze, and the People Democratic Party (PDP) Mr. Oseloka Henry Obaze and Mr. Chidi A. Onyemelukwe.

READ  Council of State approves $1Bn for Agriculture, Economic Diversification
Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response