Outrage as Buhari appoints Dead men to fill board positions

by on December 30, 2017

President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday, December 29, approved the constitution of the governing boards of agencies and parastatals. Premium Times reports that President Buhari also appointed 209 chairmen and 1258 members to fill the board positions.

The development was communicated in a statement released by Boss Mustapha, secretary to the government of the federation.

A scrutiny of the names, however, shows that at least three of them might be those of people who died after Buhari was sworn in as president on May 29, 2015. Buhari appointed Reverend Christopher Utov as a member of Nigerian Institute of Social and Economic Research.

From investigations, at least 5 names of Ghost workers appeared on the list ; 1. Senator Francis Okpozo
2. Rev. Fr Christopher Utov
3. DIG Donald Ugbaja(red)
4. Garba Attahiru Kaduna
5. Umar Dange Sokoto.

Reverend Utov, the proprietor of Fidei Polytechnic, Gboko passed away on March 17, 2017. The president also appointed Chief Donald Ugbaja as a member of the Consumer Protection Council (CPC). Chief Ugbaja, a former DIG of the Nigerian Police, died on November 29, 2017. The third man Senator Francis Okpozo, was appointed as chairman of the Nigerian Press Council. While Okpozo, a senator in the second republic, died on December 16, 2016.

A Kano governorship aspirant, Ibrahim El-Amin, popularly known as Little, was appointed board member of the Federal Medical Centre, Owo. In August, El-Amin decamped from APC to PDP in what was seen as heralding the eventual defection of the vice president Atiku Abubakar.

Another person from Kano and close confidant of Abubakar, Murtala Adhama, was also appointed into the board of Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority.

Adhama, though not known to be a party man in Kano politics, is, believed to be among Mr. Abubakar’s close strategists.

Another ally of Atiku that made it into the list is Bashir Ibrahim Ibrahim is factional chairman of the Peoples Democratic Movement, PDM was appointed member of the board of Benin-Owena River Basin Development Authority.

Also the list of the new appointees that showed duplication of names, with few people appointed into more than one board has disclosed.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response