Buhari Appoints #BringBackOurGirls Founder as Member of His Inauguration Committee

by on April 23, 2015

By Yemi Adebowale

President-elect, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd.) has appointed Hadiza Bala Usman, the Founder of the #BringBackOurGirls crusade as a member of his Presidential Inauguration Planning Committee.

READ: How I Started #BringBackOurGirls Movement – Hadiza

Hadiza Bala Usman, leading a #BringBackOurGirls protest in Abuja | Photo: thepatriotmedia.com

Hadiza Bala Usman, leading a #BringBackOurGirls protest in Abuja | Photo: thepatriotmedia.com


It will be recalled that in 2014, Chief Audu Ogbeh, an APC Chieftain openly acknowledged the #BringBackOurGirls campaign as an offshoot of the All Progressive Congress (APC), a statement for which he later apologised after massive public criticism and outrage.

READ: Audu Ogbeh apologizes to BringBackOurGirls group

The inauguration committee is co-chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Pius Anyim; and a former Bayelsa State Governor, Chief Timpre Sylva.

READ  FLASH | Yemi Osinbajo in meeting with South-East Leaders

Members from the outgoing government include the Chief of Defence‎, Air Chief Marshal, Alex Badeh; Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed; Minister of Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe; Minister of ‎Aviation, Osita Chidoka; Minister of Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke; Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Ayakenyi; and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali; Minister of Interior, Abba Moro.

Others are the representative of the Office of the National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile; the Inspector-General of Police; Minister of State Defence, Col. Austin Akobundu (retd.); Commander Brigades of Guards, Brig. Gen. A. B. Omozoje and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote, Permanent Secretary, Presidency (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).

READ  PDM Adopts Buhari As Presidential Candidate

Members of incoming government are Timipre Sylva, (co-chairman), Chief Pius Akinyelure, Mrs. Abike Dabiri Erewa, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor, ‎Prof. Tony Anwuka, Alhaji Kawy Baraje, Sen John Shagaya (rtd), Hadiza Bala Usman (#BringBackOurGirls), Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Isa Tuntua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Mr. Babachir Lawal and Mr. Samson Osagie.

‎The committee has the mandate to draw up programs of activities for the inauguration ceremony; arrange invitations and accommodation for foreign and local dignitaries; organize approved program of activities; draw up budget‎ for the program of activities and coopt into sub-committees, persons that may be necessary to assist in the discharge of activities.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response