PMB Renames Abuja National Stadium As M.K.O Abiola National Stadium

by on June 12, 2019

President Mohammadu Buhari has re-named Abuja National Stadium after the acclaimed winner of the June 12, 1993 Presidential election, Late Chief M.K.O Abiola (GCFR).

He made declaration in his Presidential address to Nigerians on the ocassion of the 2019 Democracy Day Celebration at the Eagles Square in Abuja, today, assuring Nigerians that the future and unity of the country remains unshakable.

M K.O Abiola, a philanthropist and pillar sports contested the 1993 Presidential elections on the ticket of Social Democratic Party (SDP) and was assumed to have won the elections even though results were annulled by the then former Military President, Ibrahim Babangida.

READ  Our Wrestlers will Shake the World in Tokyo 2020-Dalung

But President Buhari, last year’s June, awarded Abiola posthumously with Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR), meant only for Presidents.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response