Rohr Lists Mikel,Iwobi,Ndidi and 22 Others for 2019 AFCON

by on May 14, 2019
By Sylvanus Ofekun
The much awaited list of players that will fly Nigeria’s flag at the 2019 AFCON in Egypt has been made available to the public,as the Nigeria Football Federation officially announced the 25 players named in the Super Eagles provisional Africa Cup of Nations roster ahead of the tournament in Egypt.
Super Eagles  captain John Obi Mikel has made the list after apperaing last at the 2018 FIFA world cup in Russia.
Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi, Chelsea loanees Ola Aina and Kenneth Omeruo, Leicester City pair Kelechi Iheanacho and Wilfred Ndidi, Rotherham United’s Semi Ajayi, Stoke City’s Oghenekaro Etebo, Everton loanee Henry Onyekuru and Brighton’s Leon Balogun will be part of the training camp.
Barring any kind of pre-tournament injury, the three goalkeepers named in the squad list – Daniel Akpeyi, Francis Uzoho and Ikechukwu Ezenwa – are certain to make the 23-man final roster.
Theophilus Afelokhai, Bryan Idowu, Valentine Ozornwafor, Mikel Agu, Junior Ajayi and Ikouwem Utin will have to settle for a place in Gernot Rohr’s standby list.

All invited players and officials are to report at the Golden Tulip Hotel, Asaba on Sunday, 2nd June ahead of the friendly with the Warriors of Zimbabwe at the Stephen Keshi Stadium on Saturday, 8th June.

READ  2018 AWC:Super Falcons gets new Opponent

The team will depart for Egypt on Sunday, 9thJune aboard a chartered aircraft, set up a final training camp in the city of Ismailia and tackle Africa’s number one –ranked team, Senegal in their final pre-AFCON friendly on Sunday, 16th June.

Nigeria confront Burundi, Guinea and Madagascar in that order in Group B of the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations taking place in four Egyptian cities 21stJune – 19th July.

Nigeria’s Provisional AFCON Squad
Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

READ  Meet Policewoman who 'saved and paid hospital bill' of a robbery victim left for dead

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)

READ  Supreme Court Upholds Court Of Appeal Judgment On Rivers APC Primaries -

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response