1 comment

US Declares 20 Nigerian States as Unsafe, Issues Security Warning to Citizens

by on August 5, 2016
The United States has declared 20 states in Nigeria as unsafe for its citizens to visit. It described the security in the affected states as fluid and unpredictable.
Top on the states that Americans should not visit, according to the State Department, are Adamawa, Borno, and Yobe.
The State Department which placed the travel warning on its website on Wednesday, said the ability to provide assistance to US citizens in the three states remains severely limited.
It, therefore, charged American nationals in Nigeria to place premium on their personal security and make personal safety a priority in planning their travels.
The State Department said that except for necessity, travel to 17 other states should be controlled because of kidnappings, robberies, and other armed attacks.
The states are Bauchi, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, and Zamfara.
“Based on safety and security risk assessments, the Embassy maintains restrictions for travel by US officials to the states listed above; officials must receive advance clearance by the US Mis-sion for any travel to those states”, it stated.
The American Government further advised its citizens to be particularly vigilant around government security facilities like churches, mosques, and other places of worship; locations where large crowds may gather, such as hotels, clubs, bars, restaurants, markets, shopping malls; and other areas frequented by expatriates and foreign travellers.

READ  GENOCIDE !!! Security Agencies, Armed Youths Killing Shiites in Kaduna (PHOTOS, VIDEO)
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response